High School Nostalgia

Yesterday I visited Union High School to shoot a video with the What’s Happening Tulsa crew. I walked in through the band hall, and was hit with the feels of nostalgia (all the feely feels that feel…feely). The halls had that same stale paper smell, with the same faint notes of someone practicing their violin for orchestra. Memories of running through the halls with the REP girls, cutting class in the dressing rooms, all came rushing back like it was yesterday. I don’t feel like I had an ordinary high school experience where you hate school, and some of the people in it. I absolutely loved it (with the exception of a few boring classes) I never had an enemies, just lots of friends. I was by no means popular and definitely fell into the nerd group but my friends ranged from emo, to cheerleader, to band geeks. My favorite group of people were the theater kids, we had cliques within the class but we all got along. I almost feel like I hit my peak in highschool, I was living my dream of being on stage! Nerves were a constant but so was excitement, there were never any boring days in rehearsal. Sadly I moved to San Antonio my junior year, and their theater class auditions had passed, and since then I’ve been out of the theater game for a while.

I wish there was a pause button in life, it seems after you graduate life goes at warp speed, and soon you’re 21, then 22, and 23, and you begin to think “whooooaa before I know it I’m going to be 30, what am I doing with my life??!!!” The adult world is different than I thought it would be as I walked across the stage receiving my diploma at 17, it’s been filled with heart ache, and slaps to the face of reality. I always thought I would be so much farther in my life by now, however it was about two years ago that I realized I can take back control of my life, and go for my dreams. Sometimes the adult world can discourage me, but I always have to pick myself back up and keep on going. Anyways I hope you lovely human souls are having a fantastic day, and don’t forget…. Don’t let the Muggles get you down 🙂

– A

Leave a Reply

